Where has all the cider gone?

13 Jul

I ask myself this at every bar and restaurant I go to in America. How can this country not embrace such a delicious beverage?

In London there are ciders galore: Strongbow, Magners, Kopparberg’s, Rekorderlig (Wild Berry is my fave), Bulmer’s, Blackthorn, even Tesco has its own brand.

So where are the ciders here in the good ol’ USA? In the almost three months I’ve been back in the States I have had Magners, usually in a bottle but at a proper Irish bar you can get it on tap and the Stop and Shop near my house sells it in six packs for $9.99. I tried Harpoon’s cider. Never again, it was like drinking half a Strongbow diluted with water.

But where’s the real Strongbow? And, more importantly, where are my berry ciders? My strawberry lime ciders? One cannot live on the occasional apple or pear alone. So I ask you, America, where do I find cider? And by America, I mean google.

According to my beloved search engine, the US does brew its own ciders and certain bars carry a variety of imports… So the hunt continues. And until then, I’m a Magners loyalist.

3 Responses to “Where has all the cider gone?”

  1. Kevin Murphy July 18, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    We at Magners Irish Cider appreciate your loyalty. Have you tried Magners Pear?

    • Stephanie July 18, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

      I have had Magners Pear once in the states but never on tap. I’m a Magners loyalist through and through! Wish you guys would come out with a wild berry flavor…

      • Kevin Murphy July 18, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

        Drop me an email and I can let you know whats “on tap”.

Leave a Reply

