Life in London Part II: Words

12 May

Things I’ve fallen in love with while in London…

Words

I’m a voracious reader. After months of agonizing how I was going to bring at least 10 books abroad with me (knowing full well that I would end up buying about 5 more to make it til May) I decided I wanted an e-reader for when I travel. It has been the greatest device ever. If only I could morph it with my iPod… Oh wait, if I could afford an iPad I totally could. But I can’t. So I have the next best thing which is a Nook Color. I can surf the web, do crosswords, play Sudoku, read magazines in color and store thousands of books.

Love.

So what have I been reading?

I read all of the Percy Jackson books within the first two or three weeks here. I love Greek myth (as you know) and this makes it accessible to young readers while also being interesting and well-written, thus keeping the adult reader's attention.

Another book I’ve read is Less than Zero by Brett Easton Ellis. And then its sequel, Imperial Bedrooms.

It’s Ellis’s first novel, published when he was only 21. Reading something written by a 21-year-old inspires me so much. I know that it doesn’t matter how old you are, if you’re a good writer and a publisher takes a chance on you, you can be published.

The sequel to Less Than Zero was written 20 years later and thus the action takes place 20 years later. If it's possible, this was even more disturbing than the first. I love Ellis's writing style. It's very quick: short sentences, heightened emotions. Brilliant.

One Day, by David Nicholls, is one of the best modern books I have read in a long time. It is a love story of sorts that spans 20 years, each section taking place on the same day (July 15th) each year. It looks at the lives of two people on that day, whether they are together or apart. It is funny, sad, and well-written. Could not put it down- I even missed my stop on the tube one day from reading it so intently

The Hunger Games: Another genius young adult series about a dystopian future where children are forced to fight to the death on national television. It is gripping, horrifying, and honest in its portrayal of violence and the media. One of the best young adult series out there.

I also re-read Pride and Prejudice, but haven’t we all? Several times?

In addition to reading for pleasure I also read the newspaper every day.

London's free evening newspaper that you can pick up at any Tube station. I read it daily and not only do I feel informed, but I also get my daily dose of William and Kate.

Leave a Reply

