National Gallery

18 Apr

On the 9th it was beautiful out so I hopped a number 9 bus to Trafalgar Square to visit the National Gallery, one of London’s largest art galleries. I had already been to the National Portrait Gallery a few weeks ago so this time I just went to the main building.

The National Gallery

It was a busy day in Trafalgar Square… Then again, that part of London is always busy on the weekends. It’s right by Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden which are both huge tourist destinations.

Countdown to the Olympics clock in Trafalgar Square

View of Big Ben from Trafalgar Square

In terms of art, I tend to prefer sculpture to paintings but the National Gallery has a few Monet paintings and a few Van Gogh, two painters I enjoy. For Van Gogh I saw the Sunflowers and for Monet I saw two japanese bridge paintings and a painting of London:

The Thames with the Houses of Parliament in the background. My new favorite Monet painting.

After the museum I took a walk through Covent Garden which is a fun area.

The Ice Creamists -- I thought their flag was cool

Voltaire's London plaque

Leave a Reply

