Tower of London (take two), and the London Eye

8 Mar

On Tuesday the 22nd I met the family at the Tower of London after a half day of work. I’d already been to the Tower twice (once in 2005, once a few weeks back) but it’s such a neat place I was more than happy to repeat it. Plus, there was no way it would be as cold as the last time I went.

And while it wasn’t as cold out we were stuck with a consistent drizzle of London rain. But it was still a great trip; we got to go in some of the minor towers this time and Dad and Mark really loved all the armor and weaponry while Mama quite enjoyed the Crown Jewels. I won’t bore you with a second explanation and photos of the Tower, but if you are interested in reading about it again, click here.

After the Tower we took the Tube to Picadilly Circus and prowled around Cool Britannia for a while before heading to Planet Hollywood for dinner. It was quite underwhelming but they did have an R2-D2 from Star Wars.

Excuse me sir, but that R2-D2 is in prime condition, a real bargain. (I accept the fact that I am a nerd.)

On Wednesday the 23rd, our last full day, I had to work but met up with the family for dinner and the London Eye.

The London Eye, one of the world's tallest ferris wheels. It is a great way to see the entire city in about 45 minutes. I definitely recommend it at night, having now done it both day and night (day in 2005).

The Eye is just amazing. You ride in these pods that can hold up to 20 people. You can sit or stand as you get panoramic views of London.

Parliament at night. The reflections on the Thames make everything even more stunning.

After one last breakfast in London together, the Thomas family (minus one) left for the states. It was a whirlwind visit but so much fun. I’m lucky that they were able to share this part of my life with me. Love you guys!

 

Leave a Reply

