Born This Way

16 Feb

This post doesn’t so much have to do with my experience abroad, but it is something that has been a small part of my life here for last few days.

I want to take a minute to talk about something amazing that happened this past Friday, the 11th. Lady GaGa released a new song called “Born This Way,” and if you haven’t heard it, now’s the time. Pay attention to the lyrics.

I won’t put all the lyrics in this post, but I will give the chorus:

I’m beautiful in my way,
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way.

I’ve been listening to it on loop. It makes me feel so happy and confident. I’m a sucker for a positive message, especially one that is true. We’re all beautiful in our own way, there are no mistakes, we are born to be who we are and that’s something to be proud of, not ashamed of. I only hope that someday we will live in a world where everyone feels this way.

I saw her in concert last year, and in addition to being a truly talented performer, she is a genuine person. I was so moved by her stories. One thing she said that I think about often is that if just one person believes in you, it makes all the difference.

So whenever you feel like people aren’t accepting of who you are, just remember that you’re beautiful in your own way, and someone, somewhere, believes in you.

We were born this way.

Leave a Reply

