Awkward statues and “my new boyfriend”

25 Jan

My favorite thing about art museums are the statues. I always seem to unleash my inner 12-year-old boy and giggle uncontrollably in front of any and all homoerotic, strangely posed statues. Here are my top five from the Victoria and Albert Museum:

5) Here we have Poseidon... and someone crawling through his legs.

4) Just having a little stretch...

3) Two and a Half Naked Men: Part One

2) Dancers? Contortionists? Wrestlers? Or just awkward?

1) Theseus and the Minotaur... This is supposed to show that he triumphed over the beast.

And the view from the front isn't any less awkward.

Aside from the awkward statues, another thing I love about art museums are the busts of “important” men. I like to find the most intriguing ones and proclaim, “that’s my new boyfriend.” Here are a few of my new paramours:

5) This fellow is a musician, always a plus.

4) Facial hair to make any lady swoon

3) Luscious locks and a stern expression

2) Ebinezer Scrooge? Or the most eligible bachelor?

1) Everything a gal could ever want in a man. Did I mention he was a doctor?

2 Responses to “Awkward statues and “my new boyfriend””

  1. Jack Daly January 26, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    First of all, I just wanted to say that I loved this post. Second, I can’t wait until we go to the British Museum together, as new boyfriends abound and all you have to do is find them! Some might even be pale and tragic!

    ~JD

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Accents, Cookies, and a Pasty « Big Ben, Little Me - January 30, 2011

    […] that, if you’re as mature as we are, will make you laugh, I direct you to her blog post: https://littlelondontruths.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/awkward-statues-and-my-new-boyfriend/. Today we decided to explore the Enlightenment exhibit (which gave her great ammunition) and the […]

Leave a Reply

