Stand-Up comedy and internship news

15 Jan

On Thursday I met with the internship coordinator, Scottish Sarah, and we chatted about what I want to pursue for a career and what kind of an internship I would want. After telling her that I want to get into book editing she told me about a ridiculously amazing internship with Black Spring Press, a small publishing house, that would have me working with a book basically from start to finish. I would get a say on editing and design and have a lot of hands on experience. Obviously I jumped at the chance to interview with them and Sarah told me, (in her thick Scottish accent) “We’ve got you an interview with them next Thursday.”

I know it’s not a guarantee, but I am really keeping my fingers crossed for this one. After a little rest, Sam and I went out in search of macaroons and mac book accessories.

This involved using the Tube (London’s subway system) for the first time. I’ve ridden the T countless times. I’ve taken the subway in New York, but taking the Tube was something that intimidated me a bit. That is, until we got underground.

Sure, it looks scary, but every station has multiple maps, arrows, pictures, and how-to-get-wheres.

In comparison the subway in NYC, the Tube is easier to navigate, cleaner, more efficient, and the seats are huge, cushioned, and have armrests. Compared to the T, the tube is similar in terms of set up: you have several different lines that are colored but unlike the T they have names like: Jubilee, Picadilly, Victoria, Northern… Also unlike the T, the Tube is clean and efficient. Basically, I love the Tube. I understand the Tube. The Tube and I are becoming fast friends.

Our first stop was Green Park (on the Picadilly Line) for Sam to get macaroons from Laduree, the same place in Paris where Marie Antoinette ordered all of her macaroons and cakes.

Compact, colorful, cost-a-fortune cookies.

From there we hopped back on the Tube and got off at Covent Garden to go to the Apple store so that Sam could get the travel adapter kit. That took all of 2 minutes so we decided to explore a bit and came upon this gem:

For those of you who aren't aware, the term "Snog," in the UK, is slang for making out. So what was sold at Snog? Low-cal, fat-free, fruit-topped fro-yo. Talk about a disappointment when, with a name like Snog, one would expect to find something a little sexier than frozen yogurt.

After a quick bite back at school (still gross food but at least tolerable this time) Sam went off with a group to see Wicked and I went with a much smaller (three other kids, four RAs… so awkward) to the Comedy Store, a famous comedy club in Picadilly Circus.

Picadilly Circus is like Times Square only more enjoyable. There are no ostentatious light displays (at least, not covering every inch of the place) and while there are a good amount of tourists it’s still easy to move around.

The Comedy Store had an emcee, three acts, an intermission, and two more acts. A few notes on British stand-up:

  • If you are sitting in the first or second row, you are fair game. If you are not from London and you are in the first or second row, be prepared for jokes about you and your native land for the rest of the night. If you fit the prior descriptions and you are an American student, good luck.
  • The Brits are diiiiiirrrrrrtttttyyyy.
  • Even swearing sounds better in a British accent.
Leave a Reply

